Tramvia

.

Florence is the kind of place that you don’t want to change. Ever. Not one bit. You want it to stay just the way it has always been, so you can return and recognise everything, and look at the same things over and over – because you will still find something new every time anyway.
And Florence has been very good at not transforming. The city looks very much the same as it did several hundreds of years ago.

.

tramvia3

.

But one thing had changed since my last visit eleven years ago. Big change! And a very nice one. There are now trams in the city! From Santa Maria Novella station to Scandicci, a town southwest of Florence. The tramvia is only two years old, and from what I understand it is very popular. I must admit that I fell asleep both on my way to and from Scandicci – only because I was so exhausted from activities the previous day – and that was also the reason I tried out the tram that day. It was all I could muster, and it was either a tram trip or lie in bed all day in pains… 😉

.

.

That was also the reason why I didn’t explore Scandicci at all, I just went on the next tram back to town… This is the end station, Villa Constanza. I didn’t see any villa, and to me it seemed like we were out in the countryside without much habitation at all. But maybe I just looked in the wrong direction. It was very pretty though.

.

.

I really liked the trams. They are modern, comfortable and practical. And red! In my hometown the trams are always an ugly bright blue. I really recommend trying the tramvia out, it is a nice trip a bit outside the city, and a chance to see something else than the historic center or the fashionable hill villas.

.

Leave a comment